Commonwealth Bank Foundation announces e-Learning Grants 2006 recipients

25 August 2006

The Commonwealth Bank Foundation today awarded $350,000 worth of grants to primary schools across Australia as part of the Bank’s commitment to the education of young Australians. Seventy lucky schools across Australia will today receive a $5,000 e-Learning Grant.

The e-Learning Grants aim to develop primary students literacy and numeracy through online learning initiatives.

This year’s 70 winning schools from each state and territory were announced today at Sydney’s National Maritime Museum as part of the National Literacy and Numeracy Week Awards ceremony.

Ralph Norris, CEO of the Commonwealth Bank and Chairman of the Commonwealth Bank Foundation, was impressed by the high calibre of the applications.

"This year’s entries highlight the continuing need to encourage the application of e-learning skills in creative and innovative ways. The Commonwealth Bank Foundation is pleased to play its part by using the e-Learning Grants program to make a tangible and practical difference for primary school winners," Mr Norris said.

In its fifth year, more than 800 primary schools across the nation applied for an e-Learning Grant.

Over the past 5 years, the e-Learning Grants program has contributed more than $1.75 million to 350 primary schools around Australia. Focusing on online literacy and numeracy programs, the grants recognise the importance of building these fundamental skills in young people for the future success of Australia.

Further information on the grants, including the selection criteria and summaries of successful applicants from previous years are available on the Commonwealth Bank Foundation website -

A full list of each of the successful schools, broken down by states and territories is on the following page.

Media contact:

Bryan Fitzgerald
General Manager, Media & Issues Management
Commonwealth Bank
Phone: (02) 9378 2663
Mob: 0414 789 649

Carla Webb
Horizon Communication Group
Phone: (02) 8572 5621
Mob: 0403 675 096






Successful schools

  • Allenstown State School, Rockhampton, QLD
  • Ashgrove State School, Ashgrove, QLD
  • Barwon Valley School, Newtown, VIC
  • Beaumont Road Public School, Killara, NSW
  • Bega Valley Christian College, Bega, NSW
  • Bletchington Public School, Orange, NSW
  • Bourke Street Public School, Surry Hills, NSW
  • Brunswick North West Primary School, Brunswick West, VIC
  • Calvary Christian College, Springwood, QLD
  • Camberwarra Primary School, Craigie, WA
  • Cannon Hill Anglican College, Cannon Hill, QLD
  • Carramar Primary School, Carramar, WA
  • Carson Street Primary School, East Victoria Park, WA
  • Cascade Primary School, Cascade, WA
  • Central Coast Grammar School, Erina Heights, NSW
  • Churchill Primary School, Churchill, VIC
  • Corpus Christi Primary School, St Ives, NSW
  • Echuca South Primary School, Echuca, VIC
  • Eltham Primary School, Eltham, VIC
  • Fairy Meadow Demonstration School, Fairy Meadow
  • Forest Lake College, Forest Lake, QLD
  • Fraser Park CPC-7 School, Murray Bridge, SA
  • Guildford West Public School, Guildford West, NSW
  • Hilder Road State School, The Gap, QLD
  • Holy Rosary Primary School, Double View, WA
  • Homebush West Public School, Homebush West, NSW
  • Homestead State School, Homestead, QLD
  • Hurstville Public School, Hurstville, NSW
  • Jervis Bay Public School, Jervis Bay, NSW
  • Kidman Park Primary School, Kidman Park, SA
  • Latham Primary School, Latham, ACT
  • Lonsdale Heights Primary School, Christie Downs, SA
  • Melrose Primary School, Wodonga, VIC
  • Moorooduc Primary School, Moorooduc, VIC
  • Morris - Friends' Primary Years, North Hobart, TAS
  • Mt Alford State School, Boonah, QLD
  • Neerim District Rural School, Nayook, VIC
  • Norris Bank Primary School, Bundoora, VIC
  • Northlakes Public School, San Remo, NSW
  • Oak Flats Public School, Oak Flats, NSW
  • Our Lady of Fatima Primary School, Caringbah, NSW
  • Our Lady of the Angels Primary School, Wavell Heights, QLD
  • Our Lady of the Assumption School, Cheltenham, VIC
  • Pakenham Hills Primary School, Pakenham, VIC
  • Princes Hill Primary School, Carlton North, VIC
  • Rockingham Montessori School, Rockingham, WA
  • Rosehill Public School, Rosehill, NSW
  • Rosewall Primary School, Corio, VIC
  • Sadadeen Primary School, Alice Springs, NT
  • Seaford North Primary School, Seaford, VIC
  • St Agatha's Primary School, Clayfield, QLD
  • St Aloysius College, Adelaide, SA
  • St Andrew Lutheran School, Leanyer, NT
  • St Andrew's Anglican College, Peregian Beach, QLD
  • St Anthony's Parish School, Wanniassa, ACT
  • St Brigid's School, Ballan, VIC
  • St Gerard Majella School, Woree, QLD
  • St Joseph's School, Rosebery, TAS
  • St Marks Lutheran Primary School, Mt Gravatt East, QLD
  • St Peter's Woodlands Grammar School, Glenelg, SA
  • Tamworth Public School, Tamworth, NSW
  • Tecoma Primary School, Tecoma, VIC
  • The Cottage School, Bellerive, TAS
  • Thornlands State School, Thornlands, QLD
  • Upper Ferntree Gully Primary School, Upper Ferntree Gully, VIC
  • Wonga Beach State School, Wonga Beach, QLD
  • Woodcrest College, Springfield, QLD
  • Woodend Primary School, Sheidow Park, SA
  • Yarra Primary School, Richmond, VIC
  • Yarragon Primary School, Yarragon, VIC