ASX ANNOUNCEMENT



COMMONWEALTH BANK ANNOUNCEMENTS RETIREMENT OF DIRECTORS

Commonwealth Bank of Australia today announced that Colin Galbraith, AM and Fergus Ryan, AO would retire from the Bank's Board of Directors following the Annual General Meeting to be held on 30 October 2012.

Both Mr Galbraith and Mr Ryan have been Directors of the Bank since 2000. Colin Galbraith has been a member of Risk, Audit and Board Performance & Renewal Committees and was highly regarded for his expertise in areas of risk management and corporate governance.

Fergus Ryan has been a member of the Risk and Audit Committee and was Chairman of the Audit Committee from 2004 until 2011 and the Board benefited from his expertise in accounting and auditing.

The Bank's Chairman, David Turner thanked Mr Galbraith and Mr Ryan for their very significant contributions as Directors. He noted that their efforts were most appreciated by their fellow Directors as well as the executives, staff and shareholders of the Bank.

John Hatton Company Secretary