Congratulations to the Australian of the Year state recipients

Throughout November the state recipients of the Australian of the Year Awards have been announced.

The Commonwealth Bank has been the major sponsor of the Australian of the Year Awards for more than 30 years and we are extremely proud of this long standing partnership.

We would like to congratulate the state recipients who will now go on to become national finalists for the Australian of the Year Awards.  The national awards will be announced on 25 January 2010 in Canberra.

The 2010 State Recipients are:

Australian of the Year

ACT - Dr Patricia Easteal

NSW - Mr Jon Dee

NT - Mr Warwick Thornton

QLD - Mr Chris  Sarra

SA - Mr Julian Burton OAM

TAS - Mr Bruce Englefield

VIC - Professor Patrick McGorry

WA - Professor Ralph Martins

Senior Australian of the Year

ACT - Dr John Buckingham

NSW - Mrs  Hiskelina Thorpe

NT - Mr  Alan Langworthy

QLD - Mr Ron Rankin AM

SA - Ms  Maggie Beer

TAS - Mr Bill Mollison

VIC - Mr  Nigel Dick AM

WA - Mrs June Butcher AM

Young Australian of the Year

ACT - Mr Pierre Johannessen

NSW - Mr Jack Manning Bancroft

NT - Mr Liam Jurrah

QLD - Mrs Jean Madden

SA - Miss Danielle Catanzariti

TAS - Mr Brad Smith

VIC - Ms Larissa Brown

WA - Trooper Mark Donaldson VC

Local Hero

ACT - Mrs Julie Grehan

NSW - Ms Ronni Kahn

NT - Mrs Norma Higgins

QLD - Mayor Paul Pisasale

SA - Mr Mike Coddington

TAS - Mrs Delwyn Polden

VIC - Mr & Mrs Kevin & Rhonda Butler

WA - Mrs Rhonda Parker


For full details on their achievements visit