Twenty two inspiring educators are being recognised and rewarded for their innovation and unwavering commitment towards their students’ education at the 2023 Commonwealth Bank Teaching Awards, presented by Schools Plus.

Co-hosted by Education Minister, Hon Jason Clare MP, at Parliament House in Canberra, the Awards ceremony saw 12 outstanding teachers receive a 12-month Teaching Fellowship. This prestigious Fellowship recognises their steadfast dedication towards improving the educational opportunities for their students, and their transformational impact in their schools and communities. Valued at $40,000, the Teaching Fellowship includes $25,000 for a strategic school project and a unique professional learning program.

In addition, the Early Career Teaching Award celebrates 10 teachers who have demonstrated leadership and innovation in their first five years of the profession. This year’s winners receive an ECT Scholarship valued at $10,000, including $5,000 for professional development and an exclusive learning and mentoring program thanks to support from Salesforce.

While many of last year’s recipients were recognised for supporting students as they transitioned from remote learning back to in-person learning in the classroom, the 2023 award recipients are receiving accolades for their work in empowering students through personalised educational strategies, developing supportive wellbeing programs, and setting them up for success in a rapidly evolving technological environment.

Some of the highlights from this year’s cohort include learning initiatives that translate genuine industry knowledge into the classroom, develop future-focused co-curricular and STEM programs, and spearhead research into new educational frameworks that have been rolled out across multiple institutions. However, the common theme which emerged across all finalists was their ingenuity, compassion and commitment to their students, and education equity.   

Nathan Barker, Head of Community Investment Commonwealth Bank, said: “The Commonwealth Bank Teaching Awards have a decorated history of recognising the impact educators have on their students and school communities. This year’s teachers demonstrated incredible dedication towards developing the leaders of tomorrow and equipping them for future success. On behalf of Commonwealth Bank, I congratulate all the winners on their exceptional innovation and achievements.”

Rosemary Conn, Chief Executive Officer, Schools Plus, said: “We are truly inspired by the outstanding efforts of our esteemed teaching award winners in 2023. Their passion, dedication, and unwavering commitment to educational excellence has set a new benchmark for our teaching community. These exceptional educators embody the spirit of innovation, empowerment, and nurturing that raises the bar in education. Together we celebrate their remarkable achievements as positive change makers shaping opportunities for children, young people, and society.”

The 22 Award winners have been shortlisted from more than 500 educators who have made outstanding contributions to their schools and broader communities. The 2023 Commonwealth Bank Teaching Awards winners are:

Early Career Teachers:

  • Abbey Tamsen, Marsden State High School, QLD
  • Jessica Mumford, Laynhapuy Homelands School, NT
  • Joshua Barden, Emmaville Central School, NSW
  • Laura White, McClelland Secondary College, VIC
  • Lauren Warschauer, Byford Secondary College, WA
  • Madison Smith, Monterey Secondary College, VIC
  • Matthew Millikin, Marist College Canberra, ACT
  • Nadine Stapleton, South Hedland Primary School, WA
  • Rosie Connelly, Playford Primary School, SA
  • Seamus Kavanagh, Richmond High School, VIC

Teaching Fellows:

  • Annette Morphett, St Mary Mackillop School, SA
  • Brett Dascombe, Wavell State High School, QLD
  • Carly Barnes, The Grove Education Centre, SA
  • Conor Fennell, Katherine High School, NT
  • Jade Foster, Mount Tarcoola Primary School, WA
  • Jaynelle Le Feuvre, Central Yorke School, SA
  • Kiri Griffiths, Loganlea State High School, QLD
  • Lien Chai, Lansvale Public School, NSW
  • Matthew Esterman, Our Lady of Mercy College Parramatta, NSW
  • Michael West, Bellbird Park State Secondary College, QLD
  • MJ Raatz, Forest Lake State High School, QLD
  • Sara Curtis, Marsden State High School, QLD

The 2023 winners join a distinguished list of Alumni from six consecutive years, who have all been nationally recognised as leaders in their field, enabling equity in opportunity for children and young people in school communities across the country.

For more information on the Commonwealth Bank Teaching Awards presented by Schools Plus, visit  

Go to CBA Newsroom for the latest news and announcements from Commonwealth Bank.