As the danger of cyber threats grows, so does the hard-working community dedicated to protecting Australia and helping us all to be more cyber safe. These innovators, entrepreneurs and mentors will be recognised through the CommBank Cyber Community Awards, which will award more than $10,000 in prizes to the people and teams strengthening our cyber industry.

“Cyber security is growing more important to Australians. Every day, our customers tell us they’re concerned about constantly evolving cyber threats,” said Commonwealth Bank’s Chief Information Security Officer Keith Howard.

“The people in the cyber industry are doing vital work to protect all of us, and the CommBank Cyber Community Awards seek to champion their accomplishments.”

Awards will be given out in five categories, with  $2,000 going to the winner of each category and $500 to selected runners-up. The award categories are:

Rising Star Award

This award recognises an individual who is less than three years into their cyber security career and is already having an impact in the industry, showing strong leadership and innovation skills.

Community Innovator Award

This award recognises an individual or start-up that shows creativity and entrepreneurship by working to solve a problem plaguing the cyber security community.

Against the Odds Award

This award will be given to an individual who has persevered in their cyber career in the face of hardship, and has not been afraid to fail to achieve long-term success.

Inspirational Mentor Award

This award acknowledges the impact of a mentor who has actively sought mentoring relationships beyond their day-to-day role, proving themselves to be a positive role model to the next generation of cyber talent.

Diversity and Inclusion Champion Award

This award recognises an individual who has worked to make the cyber industry more diverse and inclusive, modelling their day-to-day behaviour to promote acceptance and support all communities.

“The CommBank Cyber Community Awards cover these five categories because they capture the breadth of the talent, dedication, and achievement across the cyber industry — not only those on the frontlines, but those working to strengthen the cyber community as a whole,” said Mr Howard.

“The cyber security industry is very community-spirited across the board and these awards are our way of celebrating this community. The award categories acknowledge the dedication and impact that individuals within the cyber industry have on keeping Australians safe and secure.”

Nominations for the awards opened on 5 September 2022, with the entry period extended until 9 October 2022. For full details about the competition, and to find out how to enter or nominate someone, visit the CommBank Cyber Community Awards site.