Help us improve our website by completing a quick survey. Start survey now

Upgrade your browser for the best CommBank website experiences. Click here.



The Commonwealth Bank has been involved in many mergers, some of which have brought records pre-dating the establishment of the Commonwealth Bank itself. These mergers include:

1913: State Savings Bank of Tasmania (1902-1913) incorporating:

  • Post Office Savings Bank of Tasmania (1882-1902)

1920: Queensland Government Savings Bank (1916-1920) incorporating:

  • Moreton Bay Savings Bank (1856-1865)
  • Ipswich Savings Bank (1861-1866)
  • Toowoomba Savings Bank (1862-1867)
  • Government Savings Bank of Queensland (1865-1916)

1931: State Savings Bank of Western Australia (1926-1931) incorporating:

  • Government Savings Bank of WA (1906-1926) which had previously incorporated Post Office Savings Bank of Western Australia (1863-1908)

1931: Government Savings Bank of NSW (1871-1931) incorporating:

  • Savings Bank of NSW (1832-1914) which had previously incorporated NSW Savings Bank/Campbell’s Bank (1819-1833) and Port Stephens Savings Bank (1830-1832)

1989: ASB Bank Ltd (1987-date) 75% holding expanded to 100% in 2000, incorporating:

  • Auckland Savings Bank/ASB Trust Bank (1847-1987)
  • Westland Bank
  • Sovereign Ltd (1989-date)
  • Retail stockbroking and fixed income operations from Warburg Dillion Read (1997-date) which had previously incorporated S G Warburg & Co and Dillion, Read & Co

1991: State Bank of Victoria/SBV (1842-1991) formerly Savings Bank of Victoria/SSB and Savings Bank of Port Phillip

2000: Colonial Limited, formerly Colonial Mutual (1873-2000) incorporating:

  • Trust Bank (1991-1999) formed out of a merger between Hobart Savings Bank/Savings Bank of Tasmania (1845-1991) and the Tasmania Bank, formerly Launceston Bank for Savings (1835-1991) which had previously incorporated Tasmanian Permanent Building Society
  • Legal & General, Australia (1953-1998)
  • State Bank of New South Wales (1931-1994), formerly the Rural Bank
  • Prudential Corporation – Australia & New Zealand (1925-1998)