Commonwealth Bank Foundation announces 100 Financial Literacy Grant recipients

13 October 2006

The Commonwealth Bank Foundation today awarded $350,000 in grants to secondary schools across Australia as part of the Bank’s commitment to the education of young Australians. One hundred outstanding schools across Australia have received a $3,500 Financial Literacy Grant this week.

The Financial Literacy Grants aim to develop secondary students’ money management skills through learning initiatives focusing on areas such as budgeting, superannuation, taxation, marketing, mobile phone contracts, small business management, profit/loss in busines.

Ralph Norris, CEO of the Commonwealth Bank and Chairman of the Commonwealth Bank Foundation, was impressed by the high calibre of the grant winners.

"This year’s winners highlight the importance of supporting the continuous improvement of financial literacy in our secondary schools. The Commonwealth Bank Foundation is pleased to play a part in helping our young people gain an increased understanding of their current and future financial situations," Mr Norris said.

Over the past three years, the Financial Literacy Grants program has contributed over $1 million to 300 secondary schools around Australia. This year, more than 280 secondary schools across the nation applied for a Commonwealth Bank Foundation Financial Literacy Grant

Focusing on money management programs that engage students’ creativity, the grants recognise the importance of developing essential life skills in young Australians that will steer them towards a more financially successful future beyond school.

Further information on the grants, including the selection criteria and summaries of successful applicants from previous years are available on the Commonwealth Bank Foundation website -

A full list of each of the successful schools, broken down by states and territories is on the following page.


Media contact:

Bryan Fitzgerald
General Manager, Media & Issues Management
Commonwealth Bank
Phone: (02) 9378 2663
Mob: 0414 789 649

Carla Webb
Horizon Communication Group
Phone: (02) 8572 5621
Mob: 0403 675 096



  • Griffith- St Clare's College
  • Waramanga- Stromlo High School


  • Maitland- All Saints College - St Peter's Campus
  • Bankstown- Bankstown Senior College,
  • Avalon North- Barrenjoey High School
  • Bega- Bega High School
  • Blacktown- Blacktown Girls High School
  • St Ives- Brigidine College
  • Umina Beach- Brisbane Water Secondary College - Umina Campus
  • Laurieton- Camden Haven High School
  • St Marys North- Chifley College - Dunheved Campus
  • Lindfield- Cromehurst School
  • Rodd Point- Domremy College
  • Cootamundra- Elouera Special School
  • Forbes- Forbes High School
  • Glenfield- Hurlstone Agricultural High School
  • North Albury, Kandeer Special School
  • Liverpool, Liverpool Boys High School
  • Kirribilli, Loreto Kirribilli
  • Wagga Wagga, M.E.T. School
  • Macquarie Fields- Macquarie Fields High School
  • Burwood- Methodist Ladies College,
  • Miller- Miller Technology High School
  • Minto- Passfield Park School
  • Forbes- Red Bend Catholic College
  • North Lismore- Richmond River High School
  • Raby- Robert Townson High School
  • Glebe- Sydney Secondary College - Black Wattle Bay Campus
  • Manly- The Pittwater House Schools
  • Bateau Bay- Tuggerah Lakes Secondary College - The Entrance Campus
  • Baulkham Hills- William Clarke College
  • Seven Hills- William Rose School


  • Balga- Balga Senior High School
  • Cannington- Cannington College Education Support Centre
  • Gascoyne Junction- Gascoyne Junction Remote Community School
  • Glen Forrest- Helena College Senior School
  • Lesmurdie- Lesmurdie Senior High School
  • Edgewater- Mater Dei College
  • Lesmurdie- Mazenod College
  • South Bunbury- Newton Moore Senior High School
  • Ocean Reef- Prendiville Catholic College
  • Gosnells- Southern River College
  • Greenwood- St Stephens School Duncraig


  • Campania- Campania District High School
  • Mornington- MacKillop College
  • New Town- Ogilvie High School
  • Rosny- Rosny College


  • Ayr- Ayr State High School
  • Bracken Ridge- Bracken Ridge State High School
  • Charters Towers- Columba Catholic College
  • Cooktown- Cooktown State School
  • Gin Gin- Gin Gin State High School
  • North Rockhampton- Glenmore State High School
  • Heatley- Heatley Secondary College
  • Lowood- Lowood State High School
  • Beaconsfield- Mackay District Special School
  • Nambour- Nambour Christian College
  • Nanango- Nanango State High School
  • Narangba- Narangba Valley State High School
  • Proston- Proston State School
  • Mt Gravatt East- Seton College
  • Southport- The Kumbari Avenue School
  • Mundingburr- Townsville Community Learning Centre
  • Upper Coomera- Upper Coomera State College
  • Manly- Wynnum State High School


  • Ceduna- Ceduna Area School
  • Evanston- Gawler High School
  • Millicent- Kangaroo Inn Area School
  • Millicent- Millicent High School
  • Morphett Vale- Morphett Vale High School
  • Andrews Farm- St Columba College
  • Torrensville- Thebarton Senior College
  • Adelaide- University Senior College
  • Marion- Westminster School
  • Windsor Gardens- Windsor Gardens Vocational College


  • Fannie Bay- Darwin High School
  • Humpty Doo- Taminmin High School


  • Ashwood- Ashwood Secondary College
  • Beaufort- Beaufort Secondary College
  • Bendigo- Bendigo Senior Secondary College
  • Carrum Downs- Carrum Downs Secondary College
  • Dingee- East Loddon P-12 College,
  • North Fitzroy- Fitzroy High School
  • Gisborne- Gisborne Secondary College
  • Mentone- Kilbreda College
  • Glen Iris- Korowa Anglican Girls School
  • Laverton- Laverton Secondary College
  • Dandenong North- Lyndale Secondary College
  • Mansfield- Mansfield Autistic School
  • Bulleen- Marcellin College
  • Ararat- Marian College
  • Melton- Melton Special School
  • Mordialloc- Mordialloc College
  • Myrtleford- Myrtleford Secondary College
  • Newcomb- Newcomb Secondary College
  • Rosebud- Rosebud Secondary College
  • Oakleigh- Sacred Heart Girls' College
  • Caulfield North- Shelford Anglican Girls' Grammar School
  • Melbourne- The MacRobertson Girls' High School
  • Upwey- Upwey High School